Dunmanway Town Soccer Club


Dunmanway Town was founded in 1991 after a meeting in An Toisin. At the time, there was a huge interest in soccer after the success of Ireland in Italia which resulted in two teams being founded in the town. The first officers of the club were President, George Chambers, Chairman, Stephen Daly, Treasurer, Tony Sheehan, Secretary and PRO, Finbarr McCarthy and Manager Billy Hurley.

Town played their first match in Clonakilty, a league cup tie in a borrowed kit as their sponsored kit did not arrive in time. This was a game Town won 5-3. The early years saw Town play their home games in Kilronan Park. Town then moved to the Kilbarry Road and later again to the race field (Droumleena Lawn) before eventually finding their current home at Mohona.

The club enjoyed some success along the way. Town gained promotion to the 2nd division in the 1994/1995 season, and they also won the 3rd division cup defeating Ardfield 4-3 after extra time.

In the 1995/1996 season, Town started an under 18 team.

In the 1996/1997 season, they won the under 18 league for the first time.

In the 1997/1998 season, Town formed an under 14 team and in their first year they won the cup with the winning goal being scored by Daniel O’Donovan who now plays with the Senior Team.

In the 1997/1998 season Dunmanway Town gained promotion again as winners of Division 2.

The following year in 1998/99 season Town were again promoted to the Premier Division as Division 1 runners up.

In 2000/01 Town were relegated from the Premier Division

In 2002/03 won Division 1 and also won their 1st ever Beamish Cup Final defeating Timoleague 2-1 with goals coming from Martin Collins and Vincent Healy.

In 2003/04 Town made history when they won the Beamish Cup again on a 2-1 score line over Gurrane Celtic with goals from Vincent Healy & Colm Mc Sweeney and making the history books as the 1st team to ever win the Beamish Cup consecutively a record that still stands. They also won the Premier Division Cup the same year with a fine hat trick from Brian Mc Carthy.

2004/05 was a poor season and again got relegated to Division 1 in a playoff with Leeside.

2005/06 Dunmanway Town bounced back again and were again promoted as Division 1 Champions.

2006/07 Dunmanway were empty handed but did reach another Beamish Cup Semi Final but were defeated by near neighbours Aultagh Celtic.

2007/08 Dunmanway Town finished in 3rd place in the Premier Division League and lost another Beamish Cup semi final to eventual winners Clonakilty but picked up another Premier Division Cup when they defeated Drinagh 1-0 with the only goal coming from Declan O’Dwyer.

2008/09 Last Season Dunmanway Town finished the season one better than the previous one when hey were runners up to Drinagh in the Premier Division a result that went down to the last game of the season and pushed winners Drinagh to the very end in a Tough season.


West Cork League Beamish Cup winners (twice)

West Cork League Premier Division Cup Winners (twice)

West Cork League Division 1 Winners (twice)

West Cork League Division 1 Runners up

West Cork League Division 2 Champions

West Cork League Division 3 Runners up

West Cork League Division 3 Cup Winners